John Legend & The Roots "Wake Up!" 2xLP Vinyl

  • Sale
  • Regular price $39.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

0 in stock

3rd Pressing [January 2020]
1,040 - Aqua Blue Vinyl

2nd Pressing [December 2018]
450 - Translucent Purple Vinyl

1st Pressing

1,000 - Ultra Clear Vinyl (OKP Shop Exclusive)
1,500 - Orange Vinyl

Finally back in print from Okayplayer!

John Legend and The Roots recorded "Wake Up!" during the time of the 2008 United States presidential election. In addition to The Roots, John Legend and Black Thought, the album features guest appearances from vocalists Common, C.L. Smooth, Melanie Fiona, and Malik Yusef. "Wake Up!" is comprised of covers of soul songs from the 1960s and 1970s containing socially active themes. The "Wake Up!" project sees John Legend and The Roots putting their distinct touch on classics from the likes of Marvin Gaye, Nina Simone, Donny Hathaway, the Teddy Pendergrass-led Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, and more.

1. Hard Times (feat. Black Thought)
2. Compared to What
3. Wake Up Everybody (feat. Common and Melanie Fiona)
4. Our Generation (The Hope of the World) (feat. CL Smooth)
5. Little Ghetto Boy (Prelude) (feat. Malik Yusef)
6. Little Ghetto Boy (feat. Black Thought)
7. Hang on in There
8. Humanity (Love the Way It Should Be)
9. Wholy Holy
10. I Can't Write Left Handed
11. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
12. Shine